Drake dominates the JBRL Nitro round #2

Saturday was the second stop on Southern California’s JBRL series sponsored by Team Losi Racing.  Many of the top driver’s attend in preparation for next months ROAR 1/8th fuel Nationals.  Some of the nearly 200 entries included Adam Drake, Cody King, Mike Truhe, Dustin Evans, Matt Schreffler, Drew Moller, Travis Amezcua, Brent Thielke, Steven Hartson, Clint Wachter, Colby Poh, Dani Choi, Chad Bradley, Andy Smolnik, and Jessie Robinson.  In qualifying it was Team Losi Racing / Nova Rossi driver Adam Drake who set the pace in both of the expert 1/8th classes.  The temperatures in sunny CA started to drop by the time the mains rolled around and the track started getting rough.


The start of the expert truck main was delayed two minutes as Drake hit another vehicle that was up side down during warm-up which severely bent a front shock shaft.  Drake’s pit crew wasn’t able to repair the shock, but they did have enough time to bolt on another shock from Mike Truhe’s buggy.  At the start of the main Drake began to pull away from Bradley, Moller, and King as they were in a heat battle.  At the end of the 20 minute main Drake took the win by a half a lap over King and Bradley.

In the buggy final Drake, Amezcua, and King start to break away from the rest of the field.  King then suffered a flameout, but continued on to finished sixth.  Drake led from start to finish and won the 20 minute main followed by Amezcua in second and Bradley rounding out the top three.


1/8th Expert Buggy

Pos / Chassis/ Engine/ Fuel/ Tire

1st/ Adam Drake (TQ)/ TLR 8ight 2.0/ Nova Rossi BTTS/ Nitrotane /Losi Digit

2nd / Travis Amezcua/ Mugen/ Ninja/ Sidewinder /AKA

3rd/ Chad Bradley/ JQ/ OS/ Werks/ PL

4th/ Colby Poh/ TLR 8ight 2.0/ Nova Rossi BTTS/ Nitrotane/ Losi Digit


5th/ Mike Truhe/ TLR 8ight 2.0/Nvision/ Nitrotane/ Losi Digit


1/8th Expert Truck

Pos / Chassis/ Engine/ Fuel / Tire

1st/ Adam Drake (TQ)/ TLR 8ight T 2.0/Nova Rossi Bonito/Nitrotane/Losi Kingpin

2nd/ Cody King/Kyosho/Orion/Byron’s/AKA

3rd / Chad Bradley/TLR 8ight T 2.0/OS/Werks/PL




Sylvain Lafrance

Sylvain Lafrance

Hello, my name is Sylvain Lafrance and I am the man behind MyRCBox.com. I have bought my first hobby grade RC in the early 90s. With years, what that started as a simple hobby, quickly became a strong passion. I am so much passionate about R/C that I have created MyRCBox.com in 2006 to share my experiences with R/C products that I use for racing and bashing. Follow me !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Privacy Policy - Terms Of Service - Sitemap